Register for Federal Disaster Assistance ASAP

The due date for enlisting with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is Tuesday, Aug 6.

Those that want to report the damage to their homes, whether they are owners or renters, can contact FEMA on 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585).

Registration online is possible at, or by the FEMA app. Also, enrolling can be done by visiting a Disaster Recovery Center.

The following counties and reservations are named for FEMA Individual Assistance:

  • Bennett
  • Bon Homme
  • Charles Mix
  • Dewey
  • Hutchinson
  • Jackson
  • Mellette
  • Minnehaha
  • Oglala Lakota
  • Todd
  • Turner
  • Yankton
  • Ziebach counties
  • Pine Ridge Reservation
  • Rosebud Reservation
  • Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation.

Disaster Recovery Centers are operational on the three reservations. They will stay open for registrations until 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, August 10th.

Other Information

Citizens that are already registered with FEMA can still ask information about their application by calling  800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585) or going online to

Until today, nearly 2,000 residents of the state have approached FEMA about potential disaster compensation.

At the same time, August 6 is the deadline for private nonprofit organizations, businesses, homeowners, and renters to apply for a low-interest disaster loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Applicants can call for more information SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center on 800-659-2955.

TTY users may also call 800-877-8339.

Applicants may also email or visit SBA at

March 9, 2020, is the due date for businesses to register for economic injury.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *